More Jump Off the Boondoggle Bandwagon

by Myron Ebell on June 27, 2011

in Blog, Features

Post image for More Jump Off the Boondoggle Bandwagon

Senators Richard Burr (R-NC) and Robert Menendez (D-NJ) are planning to introduce their version of the T. Boone Pickens Earmark bill this week.  Rep. John Sullivan (R-Okla.) released a list of 220 supporters of the Pickens-Your-Pocket Plan, which is H. R. 1380 in the House.  The list is mostly companies, many of them small to medium in size, that hope to benefit from federal subsidies for natural gas vehicles and infrastructure.

It looks now like a failing effort.  The pushback from free market and conservative groups has made a substantial dent in enthusiasm.  Fourteen Republicans in the House have withdrawn their names as co-sponsors.  That leaves 182 co-sponsors currently.

Here is the list of the Representatives who have gotten off the Boonedoggle Bandwagon: Steve Pearce (R-NM), Todd Akin (R-Mo), Glenn Thompson (R-Penna), Tim Griffin (R-Ark), Cory Gardner (R-Colo), Scott Tipton (R-Colo), Mike Coffman (R-Colo), Larry Bucshon (R-Ind), John Kline (R-Minn), Mike Kelly (R-Penna), Scott Rigell (R-Va), Blake Farenthold (R-Tex), Richard Nugent (R-Fla), and Joseph Pitts (R-Penna).

BobRGeologist June 27, 2011 at 8:28 pm

Well, I’d say the legislatore that bailed out of the boondoggle bin had their eyes on their longevityin DC. I would hope spendthrifts would have about worn out their welcome there.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: